Hill of Tarvit Mansion & Garden
The Hill of Tarvit Mansion & Garden is an Edwardian era mansion house, first built in the 17th century and remodeled in 1906. With an exquisite collection of antiques, Chinese porcelain, furniture and paintings, it provides a glimpse of early 20th century Edwardian life. The Main Hall features Flemish tapestry, while the Dining Room displays fine English furniture and the Drawing Room is home to French furniture and Rococo-style plasterwork. The fireplace in the Smoking Room is made of a remnant of the nearby Scotstarvit Tower that dates to 1500.
One of the major attractions of the grounds is a nine hole hickory club golf course, which was added in 1924. Visitors can also try their hand at croquet, billiards and parlour games from the early 1900s. Alternatively enjoy one of the three marked walks around the grounds – the Woodland Walk, the Hilltop Walk or the Centenary Walk.
The garden and grounds surrounding the Hill of Tarvit Mansion house and garden are open daily from 9:30 am to dusk. The mansion itself is open from April 1 to May 31, Wednesdays to Sundays from 1 to 5 p.m.; from June 1 to August 31, daily, 1-5 p.m.; and September 1 to October 31, Wednesdays to Sundays from 1 to 4 p.m. The last entry is 30 minutes before closing time. Tickets cost 10.50 pounds for adults.
To get to the Hill of Tarvit, take Stagecoach Fife bus 41 to Craigrothie Village Hall, a half mile walk away or bus 64 to the Cupar entrance. By train, the Edinburgh-Dundee-Aberdeen-Dyce line stops at Cupar, two miles away.