Recent Searches
Clear

1 Hour Bow River Ride

|
Banff, Canada
1 Hour Bow River Ride

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon1 hour  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Saddle up for a journey through the celebrated landscape of Banff National Park on this guided horseback riding adventure. Get out of the car and onto the trails of the Bow River or the Spray River and enjoy the area’s beautiful outdoor environment, largely unchanged from the days of the pioneers. This equine-themed odyssey includes a guide, use of a horse, and all necessary equipment.
  • Horseback ride through Banff National Park
  • Ride a horse to natural sulfur springs
  • Ride along the Bow River or the Spray River (depending on option booked)
  • Learn about the history of the national park from a guide
Saved to wishlist!
Lead and tail guides
Use of horse
Helmet (mandatory)
Basic horseback riding instruction
Gratuities
Food and drink
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Banff Trail Riders - Stables , 100 Sundance Rd, Banff, AB T1L 1B9, Canada

The meeting point for the Bow River Ride is at Warner Stables, the big red stables located on Sundance Road in Banff.

This activity will end right where it started.
Get a different perspective of the incredible scenery of Banff, during this horseback riding excursion along the Bow River or Spray River. This riding experience provides visitors with a first-hand taste of the wild landscape around Banff, much as the early settlers would have seen it, while mounted on horseback.

If you chose to cover the Bow River area, head to the natural sulfur hot springs. Follow the trail, which loops around a marsh near the Bow River. As you ride, catch views of Mt. Norquay and the Cascade Mountain in the distance.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • All riders must arrive 30 minutes prior to their ride time.
  • Guests participating in horseback riding will need to be 8 years or over and a maximum of 230lbs. Banff Trail Riders is committed to the health of our horses and the safety of our guests, which means that the minimum age and maximum weight requirements are strictly enforced. As part of the check-in process, guests may be required to confirm their current weight on a scale and provide proof of the child’s age. In the event that these requirements are not met, the booking will be forfeited without a refund.
  • Please note that children will not be paired with an adult – they must ride their own horse.
  • For our foreign visitors we require an understanding of basic English for our horseback rides, so that you can understand simple instructions from our guides.
  • Children aged 17 years and under must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.
  • For safety purposes helmets are mandatory to be worn by all riders.
  • Riders must wear long pants and sturdy closed toed shoes enclosed to the ankle - no open toe shoes or shoes with big heels.
  • Adults must sign a waiver for all activities, and a waiver must also be completed by the parent or legal guardian of any person under the age of 18 (documentation may be required to confirm the signatory’s authority).
  • Riders must be physically capable of controlling the horse during the ride without assistance and for the health and safety of all riders we regrettably cannot accommodate any disabilities or special needs riders. We recognize that disabled riding is a unique and respected skill set that we at the barns do not have the appropriate equipment or skills to safely execute.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Banff Trail Riders
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.0
star-4
159 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 159 reviews
star-5
First time for riding
Wei_X
, Jul 2022
It is a good experience for my life with my family and friend in Canada Day. It is very important activity in Banff Town after Covid-19 Pandemic.
star-5
Our adventure was...
nicole_j
, Jun 2022
Our adventure was wonderful it was a nice relaxing ride around the river. The mountains still were capped with snow which made for an even better view. Thank you for a wonderful tour!
star-5
Great staff!
Dean_D
, Jun 2022
Wonderful staff - very friendly and helpful! Some of us had never even been on a horse and they made it easy
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing 👏
Josephine_B
, Jun 2022
What a fabulous experience. Friendly staff and beautiful horses. The staff were very knowledge and made sure eveyone was at ease and comfortable to ride.
star-5
Great staff
Gabriel_A
, May 2022
Staff was SUPER friendly and SUPER helpful. My mom was very nervous about riding. It was her first time but the staff helped out a lot and made the experience really fun!
star-4
Scenic ride
SamanWeda_G
, May 2022
Very chill and cozy ride, it would have been more cool if it was like a guided tour than just a ride - they did talk a bit about the area but would have loved if they did more of that during the ride.
star-5
Loved our horseback riding experience.
Lisa_S
, May 2022
The horses 🐎. So good to know they were rescued. The staff/guides were excellent as well. Friendly and knowledgeable.
star-5
Highly recommend!
Justine_D
, May 2022
We really enjoyed the experience of riding lovely horses into the woods as a family. Our guides were incredibly informative, fun and enthusiastic. We strongly recommending! The view was unreal as well!
star-5
Great for kids!
Mandy_E
, May 2022
This was my kid's first riding experience where no one was holding the horse for them. The guides were very friendly and informative. The ride is beautiful, and the horses were well behaved. Next time we visit, I'll plan for a longer adventure.
star-1
There’s nothing memorable...
Tracy_K
, May 2022
There’s nothing memorable besides them being rude and judging. I would never recommend anyone with low self confidence going there. They make you step on a scale to see if your light enough 😳
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for your comments. Im sorry if you took offence to us asking your weights and checking with the scale. We do this for the health of our horses. This is also common practice at any reputable horse riding company. We do know weight is a delicate subject and we do not display anyones weight to the public. I apologize that you thought we were being rude and judging, but that was not the case.
star-5
Great experience
Mark_H
, May 2022
The horse ride was great. Horses are well trained, our guides were friendly and knowledgeable, and the views are breathtaking
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks Mark were glad you enjoyed your ride
star-1
Cancelled and not notified
heather_b
, Apr 2022
We arrived for this tour and were told it was cancelled. Of course, we understand this was a safety matter due to icy conditions but it would have been good to have been notified before we made the one hour journey to get there. They said they’d tried to contact us but nobody else was notified either. On the plus side, we took a nice walk back by the river to our accommodation. Sorry we rate this tour so poorly but can’t give a better rating. Had the tour happened, I’m sure we would have loved it. It was our last day so we couldn’t reschedule.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Im sorry for this Heather. Due to the weather and the ice on the trail we had to cancel tours. I believe the reservations team tried to contact all guests as we had a full day of rides that day. Sometimes depending on how you book we do not have guests contact numbers. Any way I apologize and hope you have the opportunity to ride with us in the future
star-5
Genius!
Christina_S
, Oct 2021
First time we were riding- perfect Everybody helped us- we felt save from the first second- thanks for everything
star-5
Beautiful Ride!
Mazlina_K
, Oct 2021
I really enjoyed the ride. It was my first time on a horse and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and views, it was totally worth it!
star-5
Don’t fence me in!
Sofia_M
, Oct 2021
Jayson made sure I was truly comfortable on me saddle, bringing the horse booster chair to me haha , great time !
star-5
Bow River Ride - September 2021
Mark_D
, Sep 2021
It was so peaceful riding through the trees and beside the Bow River. Absolutely beautiful. Friendly and professional staff, they made the experience most enjoyable.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Save your money and avoid ! SCAM
Michela_T
, Sep 2021
AVOID AVOID AVOID. SCAM SCAM SCAM. Do yourself a favour, avoid booking and save money. This one tour ruined my entire trip. Please read the 1 star reviews on google. PLEASE book horseback riding, anywhere else.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-1
Staff was unfriendly and possibly racist
Tania_I
, Sep 2021
Honorably, I’m still annoyed with myself for not saying anything. The staff was super racist and mean. My mom and I did this activity together and my mom can’t speak English so I had to translate everything to her. One of the staff was trying to help her get on the horse and my mom wasn’t understanding the instructions so I was giving her instructions in my language from the back and this lady kept getting annoyed. She shared a long stare with her other coworker during this time. I honestly felt so bad even putting my mother through this entire thing. They kept on smiling and talking to other white folks and completely ignored us, as if we don’t even exist. Not a friendly staff and they maybe racist. If you’re any other color but white, this place is not for you.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Great experience with good views.
Kayla_S
, Sep 2021
Had great weather, sunny day with a breeze. Beautiful views and quiet peaceful trail. A good chunk of the trail was enclosed with trees, with some of it along a road with people walking and biking, with not much of a view but the second half was worth it.
star-5
Memorable !
Palmira_H
, Aug 2021
Horses are very well behaved and the scenery is breathtaking. So glad we booked this ! I am quite nervous around horses but Flyer (my horse) was so well behaved that it made the ride very enjoyable!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
1 Hour Bow River Ride
1 Hour Bow River Ride

star-4159

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$70.10

star-4.514

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$76.08

star-4.538

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$139.35

star-434

40 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$38.47

star-4.563

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$101.73

star-54

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$50.01

star-4.5248

4 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$76.94

star-445

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$135.92

star-58

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$50.01
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations