Recent Searches
Clear

From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard Calypso

star-4.5675 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Wailuku, United States
From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard Calypso
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon5 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Over 200 different species of fish inhabit Molokini Crater, and you have the chance to search for them all aboard this Maui snorkeling tour. Inside this ancient volcanic caldera that rises up out of the sea, you might also find manta rays, sea urchins, eels, or even a harmless shark. This tour also stops at a spot called Turtle Town along the Maui coastline, where you have the chance to swim alongside enormous Hawaiian Green sea turtles. Enjoy amenities like a glass-bottom viewing room and snorkeling equipment as well as a buffet lunch on the triple-decker catamaran.
  • Snorkel at Molokini Crater
  • Come face to face with Hawaiian Green sea turtles
  • Professional lifeguards and glass bottom viewing port
  • Enjoy breakfast and lunch while cruising the coast
  • Splash off the onboard water slide
  • All snorkeling gear included
  • Catamaran has three restrooms and two freshwater showers

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This tour takes you to great snorkeling spots aboard a catamaran with showers and two waterslides.
Saved to wishlist!
Two slides
Maui's only triple-decker catamaran with plenty of seating
Glass-bottom viewing room
Professional captain and crew
Use of top-quality snorkel gear and flotation devices
Hot Coffee, Tea, Ice-cold sodas and Juice
Informative and historical narration
Fuel surcharge
"Jump for Joy" jumping platform
Breakfast
Lunch
Gratuities
DVD (available to purchase)
Alcoholic drinks
Hotel pickup and drop-off not included nor available
Optional wetsuit and underwater digital camera rentals
Paid parking is avail in front of Maui Ocean Center ($2/hour or $8/5hours)
101 Maalaea Rd , 101 Maalaea Rd, Wailuku, HI 96793, USA

HARBOR ADDRESS: 101 Maalaea Rd, Maalaea HI 96763. WHERE @ HARBOR: SLIP 82 MANDATORY CHECK-IN: 6:45am PROMPT DEPARTURE: 7:30am

7:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Vegetarian & Gluten-Free option is available; please advise at time of booking if required.
  • Operates in most weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • A 48-hour notice is required for cancellation or reschedule.
  • Mandatory Check-in 30 minutes prior to departure.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult.
  • Minimum drinking age: 21 years old.
  • Bring cash if you'd like to tip the crew!
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • All Snorkel Spots Are Determined Daily Weather Permitting. Please Understand and Respect Captain’s Decision on Snorkel Locations – In Your Best Interest.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 149 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Calypso Charters
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
Where do we depart from on the Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard the Calypso from Ma'alaea Harbor?
A:Slip 82, South Ferry Dock, 101 Maalaea Road, Wailuku, HI, 96763
Mar 2021
Q:
Is there parking near the dock for the Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard the Calypso from Ma'alaea Harbor?
A:Yes, you can park near the boat. There is also paid parking in front of Maui Ocean Center the cost is $2.00/hour and $5.00/8hours . You will want to pay for 3 hours to make sure you have plenty of time. (Rates subject to change at any time)
Apr 2022
Q:
How early do I need to check in for the Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard the Calypso from Ma'alaea Harbor?
A:Check-in time is at 6:45 am at Slip 82, South Ferry Dock, 101 Maalaea Road, Wailuku, HI, 96763
Mar 2021
Q:
What type of boat is used during the Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard the Calypso from Ma'alaea Harbor?
A:Our power catamaran is built with three decks of fun. When the boat is moving forward, the twin hulls cut through the water, so the catamaran rides on top of the sea-surface winds. This leads to a comfortable, smooth trip for you and your group.
Mar 2021
Q:
Are there shaded areas to relax on the catamaran during the Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard the Calypso?
A:Two of the cabins are completely covered to provide ample shade, but both ends are open to the sea air. The huge tinted windows along both the port and starboard sides ensure that you always have a good view of the great Pacific beyond the railings.
Mar 2021
Q:
Can I participate in the Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard the Calypso if I am not a strong swimmer/snorkeler?
A:Absolutely! The crew will patiently instruct you in the use of our snorkel gear. In addition to the essential mask, fins, and snorkel sets, we also offer prescription masks and comfortable flotation devices for your use.
Mar 2021
Q:
Can I join my group if I don't want to get into the water during the Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard the Calypso?
A:Yes - If you don’t want to snorkel or swim, Calypso has a glass bottom in one section of the boat, so you can watch your friends watch the fish. And if you decide to join them later for your own snorkeling experience, reaching the water is simple.
Mar 2021
Q:
What should I bring for the Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard the Calypso from Ma'alaea Harbor?
A:We recommend that you wear your bathing suit under your regular clothes and bring a towel, waterproof camera, sunscreen, a hat, and cash for the ‘cash bar.’
Mar 2021
Q:
What kind of food is provided during the Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard the Calypso from Ma'alaea Harbor?
A:For breakfast, we have muffins, pastries, and assorted fruit. For lunch, we have a deli sandwiches (Roast Beef, Ham, Chicken) or pulled pork sandwich with BBQ sauce, coleslaw, chips, and a cookie. Sodas, water, and juice are available anytime.
Apr 2022
Q:
Are there vegetarian options available during the Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard the Calypso from Ma'alaea Harbor?
A:Yes, vegetarian options are available. Let us know of any dietary restrictions in the "Special Requirements" box at checkout. Also, be sure to call us at the phone number on your ticket at least 24 hours prior to your sailing for confirmation.
Mar 2021
Q:
Is there a restroom on the boat during the Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard the Calypso from Ma'alaea Harbor?
A:Yes, there are three restrooms on board for your convenience. There are also freshwater showers to rinse off once you are done swimming/snorkeling.
Mar 2021
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard Calypso ?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard Calypso .
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard Calypso ?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard Calypso .

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Do bring your own towel ( and wet suit if you like to stay warm in the water)." See review
  • "Give yourself plenty of time for parking, walking there, etc." See review
  • "If you want to really enjoy snorkeling, it may be better to be in a smaller group on a smaller boat." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
675 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 675 reviews
star-1
Not worth the weather risk
Anna_P
, Jul 2022
The water was so choppy that we were not able to make it to the crater and half the boat was vomiting from motion sickness. We made it to one area to snorkel and then lunch was served back on the boat at 10am (Costco sandwiches and bags of chips) and we returned to the harbor. I asked for a 50% refund and was told no. There was no mention of the slides mentioned in marketing materials and no opportunity to just stop and swim! I wish I had read more reviews before committing to this trip which I believe never should’ve left harbor that day. It seems now in retrospect this happens a lot because of weather, which again isn’t mentioned anywhere. It’s a risk to sign up to go, and people should be aware of that
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great trip, great crew! ...
Donna_K
, Jul 2022
Great trip, great crew! Fun excursion! We all had a wonderful time! We would recommend this trip! Well done!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Molokini Snorkeling Adventure
Anne_C
, Jun 2022
The experience was delightful! We were there with our daughter, her husband and their two children, ages 9 and 11. From the moment we boarded the Calypso we were made to feel comfortable and every detail of the experience was explained. The food was also a perfect selection. Overall, it was a great experience!
star-3
Good tour but ruined due to commonly bad weather.
Jacqui_K
, Jun 2022
The crew were great and the boat was awesome! However, due to the winds and weather, we only got to swim at the crater, and not at turtle town, and didn't get the chance to use the waterslide or jumping platform from the boat. And the turtles were the main attraction for us! We also found that there were lots of beautiful fish in the crater, but we could find very similar fish off the coast of Maui with our own snorkels rather than paying for a tour. We also had one person in our trip that was sick on the day (from a stomach bug), and spoke to the crew who said just to talk to Viator about a refund, and once we were home and could speak to viator, they said unless we had a doctors certificate there was nothing we could do (which the crew never said we needed to get on the day). Overall, a good tour, but we didn't get the full experience due to bad weather which is apparently very common in that part of the bay, and is apparently rare to get good weather there.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Overall, a very nice snorkeling trip!
John_D
, Jun 2022
We definitely enjoyed the snorkeling trip to Molokini as well as to see the turtles. The staff were all very friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and efficient. The food provided for breakfast and lunch was good and well presented. The boat was great with plenty of seating for anyone who wanted to sit inside or outside. They even had plenty of the reef safe sunscreen for those who needed it. The only downside for my husband and myself was being told that we had to stay within certain parameters while snorkeling. It was so crowded in the small area so we wanted to venture out a little bit and were even told by someone from another boat that we had to stay within the boundaries. The space allowed is not large enough to accommodate everyone from the boat I almost felt like we were like a flock of sheep being herded!
star-5
Great tour, beautiful snorkeling
Brittany_H
, Jun 2022
Great tour, 2 snorkle sights, saw tons of beautiful fish. Great, friendly crew, my husband won a free tshirt for biggest splash off jump platform! Had a blast!
star-5
Friendliest staff ever!
Arlene_C
, Jun 2022
This was my second time on this boat. Super friendly and patient staff! We went snorkeling to two different locations and we saw lots of fish and turtles. Their lunch was great tasting. I will be back a third fine.
star-4
Fantastic experience
Raphael_M
, Jun 2022
Very good experience snorkeling. Staff was great. Missed seeing turtles due to weather. Bring very good underwater camera!!
star-5
Great family fun
Scott_A
, Jun 2022
The crew was super friendly and assisted our little ones with the snorkel gear we had brought with us. They fed us and served ice cream cones on the way back to the harbor. Great overall experience!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for your review! The snorkel tour aboard Calypso is a great family-friendly activity. We are happy to hear that you all had a great time.
star-5
My son and husband seeing...
Sara_S
, Jun 2022
My son and husband seeing a reef shark! We were unable to make turtle town due to the Weather but I am glad they put safety first.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Safety is always our number one priority aboard Calypso! We are so glad to hear that you had a great time and that you even saw a shark!
star-5
Best snorkeling ever!
Margaret_T
, Jun 2022
The crew was amazing and helpful. The snorkeling was beautiful. The food was great! Such a great time.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful snorkeling adventure aboard Calypso.
star-5
So amazing to take true family!!!!
Stephen_B
, Jun 2022
See the fish and turtles!!! And enjoy the family. It was so much fun and will be a memory forever. Crew was amazing.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased to hear that your snorkel adventure aboard Calypso was incredible!
star-5
Great time!
Jessica_S
, Jun 2022
Great experience!! Awesome crew, yummy food! Swam with turtles and so many beautiful fish! Would highly recommend this tour!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you so much for your feedback! We love taking guests out to experience Maui's amazing marine life aboard Calypso.
star-5
Amazing!!! Would highly...
Melissa_M
, Jun 2022
Amazing!!! Would highly recommend. Crew, view, food and drinks are awesome !!!! Can’t wait to come back
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Sounds like a fantastic snorkeling adventure to Molokini aboard Calypso!
star-5
Great day on the water!
Traci_B
, Jun 2022
The crew was very helpful and explained everything . The Calypso is great size. I love that there are so many ladders back on the boat. The kids loved the jump platform and slides. I’d recommend getting there a little earlier than the check in time so you can get a close parking spot and a good seat. I do get motion sick so I took Bonine and it worked great. There were a couple of times it was rough and I was glad I had taken it. My kids didn’t have any issues. Snorkeling was fun in both places. We were lucky, it was a beautiful day and the water felt great. I thought I’d see more fish like what I’ve seen in the Caribbean but the overall experience was very fun! I’d definitely recommend this excursion.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Our crew aboard Calypso are wonderful! We are so happy to hear that you had an awesome snorkeling adventure with your family.
star-3
Hope for calmer waters
Andrew_T
, Jun 2022
Great crew and vessel but choppy waters meant no snorkeling at the Crater. Not impressed with turtle town at all. One turtle and not that many fish. Better snorkeling on my own with more turtles on beach by hotel. Should have gotten discount or some type of credit. Talking to locals - not getting out to snorkel on Crater happens. Understand safety comes first but a lot of money for what we experienced. Date of trip - am of June 15th.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear that your experience was anything less than wonderful. On rare occasions we do have to reroute the boat due to extreme weather conditions to ensure passenger safety.
star-5
A Maui MUST DO
Collen_R
, Jun 2022
Great time!! Had so much fun, crew was fantastic and it was a beautiful tour. Molokini was beautiful, we didn’t see any turtles there but the reef was stunning. The trip to turtle town was very rewarding!! Saw multiple turtles and had a perfect day! Thank you!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you so much for your review! Turtle town is one of the best spots to see amazing green sea turtles. Thank you for joining us aboard Calypso.
star-5
One of the highlights of our trip.
Charles_S
, Jun 2022
The crew was fantastic. We had a blast they made it fun and entertaining the whole trip. The breakfast and lunch and the ice cream were all delicious. They explained how to put on all the equipment and were super patient for us first timers snorkeling.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Our crew aboard Calypso are the best! We are pleased to hear that you had a great boating experience!
star-2
No good snorkeling despite good weather.
michael_e
, Jun 2022
Molokini snorkel cancelled because of choppy water even though it was 72 sunny with light winds. Turtle town snorkel area had one turtle. Couldn’t even go near the reef or crew would tell you to come back. The food was Costco food. The crew was nice and friendly. They were the only high point. Not at all worth the money. I asked for a partial refund.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Oh no! We are sorry to hear that your experience was anything less than wonderful. We are looking into aspects of your trip where we may have fell short, so that we can improve upon them in the future. We appreciate your feedback.
star-5
Excellent trip
Kellie_P
, Jun 2022
Excellent staff, very attentive and funny, food quality great and enough for extra snacks. Great location and we would recommend the Calypso
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Sounds like a spectacular time aboard Calypso! Thank you for your feedback.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard Calypso
Likely to Sell Out
From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard Calypso

star-4.5675

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$149.95

star-4.5933

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$149.95

star-4.5339

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$196.12

star-4297

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$89.95

star-4.537

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$115.00

star-51099

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$208.22

star-4.568

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$159.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations