Recent Searches
Clear

Rome Underground: Panoramic Bus Transfer to the Catacombs + Guided Tour

|
Roma, Italy
Rome Underground: Panoramic Bus Transfer to the Catacombs + Guided Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 4 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Head beneath the Eternal City for a VIP tour of Rome’s Catacombs. Wander through an eerie network of tunnels below the city streets, once both a burial ground and worship site for Rome’s first Christians. Tours include minibus transfers from Piazza Venezia, both live commentary and an audio guide, and headsets for extra mobility.
  • A VIP guided tour of Rome’s Catacombs
  • Get access to the CityAPP audio guide to listen to in-depth background on Rome’s underground
  • Choose from morning and afternoon departure timings for extra flexibility
  • Enjoy complimentary use of an audio headset so you won’t miss a word of the commentary
Saved to wishlist!
Panoramic open bus return transfer from the city center to the Rome underground of the catacombs
Assistance at the TOURISTATION meeting point
45 minutes guided tour at the Catacombs
Morning and afternoon departure timing
25 min Ancient Rome Multimedia Video
Trevi District Underground if selected
Navona Underground if selected
Drink and food
Pick up from the hotel
Piazza d'Aracoeli, 16 , Piazza d'Aracoeli, 16, 00186 Roma RM, Italy

Meet at Touristation Piazza Venezia next to Piazza Venezia. Facing the Vittorio Emanuele II monument, the office is on the right-hand side and there is a small fountain just in front.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • All participants are required to bring and wear FFP2 masks. Blue surgical masks will not be accepted
  • Not recommended for travellers who may get claustrophobic due to the small spaces.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers
  • OPERATED BY TOURISTATION
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Rome Underground: Panoramic Bus Transfer to the Catacombs + Guided Tour?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Rome Underground: Panoramic Bus Transfer to the Catacombs + Guided Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Rome Underground: Panoramic Bus Transfer to the Catacombs + Guided Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Rome Underground: Panoramic Bus Transfer to the Catacombs + Guided Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Rome Underground: Panoramic Bus Transfer to the Catacombs + Guided Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Rome Underground: Panoramic Bus Transfer to the Catacombs + Guided Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.0
star-4
63 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 63 reviews
star-5
Good tours
Margaret_G
, Aug 2022
The Trevi Fountain underground is beautiful! It is a short tour. The catacombs is interesting but don’t expect bones!
star-5
Great tour!!
Edward_S
, Aug 2022
We had a wonderful Tourguide who was not overly very knowledgeable but witty. We will definitely do the story again.
star-2
Don't take this tour as it is not a great value of your money.
Maurine_C
, Jul 2022
I don't recommend this tour as it is not worth the money. I was expecting to visit at least 2 catacomb site, but unfortunately this tour will just make you visit 1 catacomb site (San Callisto) and the tour guide was from San Callisto itself. This tour will just make you pay for the ride that you will have to San Callisto, that's it! Another thing is that the staff in the touristation wasn't very nice and friendly. They didn't even entertain us in a friendly manner as if I was asking them a favor. Kudos to our driver to the catacombs who was nice and friendly. Don't take this tour. I suggest you book a taxi to San Callisto and pay a tour ticket to San Callisto itself. They have different tour available every hour and in different languages. This will save you money, otherwise just look for a tour that includes visit to 3 catacombs places I think that's a good value of your money.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear customer, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed to hear that your tour did not meet your expectations. We work in order to ensure that our clients receive the highest quality experience. Thank you again for your input and we hope to earn your business back the next time you’re in Rome. Best regards, Touristation Team
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Must do visit for history buffs!!
JOHN_B
, Jul 2022
Transportation was great and limited to 8 travelers so not crowded. Driver was polished and Mercedes van very comfortable. Ticket also included to Catecombs. A little less than an hour tour with outstanding guide!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Customer, Thank you for your time. Your feedback is important to us. Kindly, Touristation Team
star-5
Amazing… inspirational!
Greg_K
, Jul 2022
Don was amazing! His passion for the subject matter and the way he wove factual info into stories about icons of the past was very impressive. My whole family (including five teenagers) were captivated by his narrative. This has been the highlight of our Italy trip!
star-5
Good experience
Lynn_N
, Jun 2022
Great driver to/from who pointed out sights along the way. Knowledgeable tour guide that did well in explaining things.
star-5
Cool way to escape the heat
AngelicaMarie_d
, Jun 2022
Our driver, Mirko was very friendly, and pointed out the sites as we drove by them. Our guide in the catacombs was just as wonderful! Definitely a great experience and interesting way to escap3 the heat for a couple of hours.
star-3
Ok
Craig_S
, Jun 2022
Cancelation of previously confirmed and paid for tour at 11 pm the night before was not a good start. Chat with viator turned out ok but not what we wanted.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Very good guide! Our...
Carol_S
, Jun 2022
Very good guide! Our driver was fantastic! Knew all about Rome on drive to catacombs. Young woman who met us at tour company start was not overly friendly.
star-3
Good tour too expensive
patjudt
, May 2022
The tour was great but we could have taken a taxi and paid the 8€ for the ticket at the catacombs site! See the catacombs but no need to book this tour, just go there!
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-2
Not worth it guys
Marianne_O
, Mar 2022
The catacomb itself is really cool but this tour is DEFINITELY not worth the price. You only get to see very little of the catacomb (most rooms are roped off) so it's easy to navigate on your own. Save your money. We paid extra the option which includes the "Piazza Navona underground" - it turns out that all you get is the entrance ticket, there will be no guide joining you there.. also, you'll have to walk there on your own (the transport that takes you to the catacomb does not take you there afterwards) so there's really no point in doing it with through agency at all.. Definitely go see these sights on your own, doing it through this agency doesn't add anything to the experience..
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear customer, Thank you for sending your opinion.. We’re sorry to hear that your tour did not meet your expectations. We look forward to hearing back from you soon. Best regards, Touristation Team
star-3
nice but be carefull
andreas_s
, Mar 2022
The tour was good and interesting, however we had also booked the trevi fountain afterwards and when we returned to the office we asked about it, only to be pointed at the general direction to go there by ourselves...
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Customer,  Thank you for your opinion. Your feedback is important to us in order to improve our service quality. Touristation Team  
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
A must do!
Jacquelene_A
, Mar 2022
Amazing tour and our tour guild was so knowledgeable and informative. Her English was very good and understandable. Crypts were so neat and awing! A very must do.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Customer, thank you to share your opinion. It’s always a pleasure to have you as our guest, we look forward to see you again. Kindly, Touristation Team
star-5
Such a great tour!
Rachel_D
, Mar 2022
We had such a wonderful time on our tour! We started at the Touristation where we checked in and watched a 20 minute video about Rome, which we really enjoyed. The women at the check in were also extremely nice! We then hopped in a very nice van (leather seats) with 4 other people and took a 15-20 minute drive to the catacombs. We then had a wonderful tour guide who was extremely insightful and we had a great experience. We were then picked up and dropped back off at our meeting point. From start to finish, this takes about 2 hours. We highly recommend it!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Dear Customer, We are to thank for sharing your opinion. It is always a pleasure to have you as our guest, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Touristation Team
star-2
Underwhelming….
Robert_B
, Oct 2021
The tour started almost an hour after we showed up at the Touristation. The guide was OK, but the group was too big for the space needed to provide an insightful experience. The tour was way too short for the cost. I would not recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Dear Customer, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We’re sorry to hear that your tour did not meet your expectations. We look forward to hearing back from you soon. Best regards, Touristation Team
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Not worth your money
Emily_M
, Oct 2021
It would be cheaper and save some time to just get a taxi to the catacombs. They basically just gave us a ride to the catacombs and provided us a ticket, which we could have purchased onsite. We had people in our car that spoke multiple languages so we had to wait until all the tours were done prior to leaving. We also paid extra to also visit the Trevi underground. We assumed we would get the tours all at once and didn't realize that we still had to schedule the Trevi underground when we got there. We were scheduled to see the catacombs at 10:00 and the Trevi underground at 3:00 pm with no transportation to the Trevi underground. What we were told would be a few hours ended up being an all day excursion. We ended up just skipping the Trevi underground. The catacombs itself was amazing and I would highly recommend going just save yourself some time and money and buy a taxi.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Dear Emily, we are sorry to hear that our tour didn’t live up to your expectations. At Touristation we always try to provide the best possible service to our customers so it’s disappointing to hear that was not the case with your tour. We would suggest you to contact us directly via email or phone, so we can investigate better what happened on that day during your tour and assist you as much as we can. Thank you again for taking the time to contact us. We hope that we have been helpful to you and we are looking forward to hearing back from you. Best regards, Touristation Team
star-2
Bait and switch
Victoria_H
, Oct 2021
We started at 10. No, this was the check in time nothing happened til 10:30. We saw a movie which was good then drive out to san Clemente. It was fascinating. No skulls like photo
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Dear Victoria, we are sorry to hear that our tour didn’t live up to your expectations. At Touristation we always try to provide the best possible service to our customers so it’s disappointing to hear that was not the case with your tour. Thank you again for taking the time to contact us. We hope that we have been helpful to you and we are looking forward to hearing back from you. Best regards, Touristation Team
star-1
Be careful. They don’t tell you it is split into two parts!!
David_L
, Aug 2021
Be careful when booking. We booked a combination tour with the Catacombs and Trevi fountain. We were NOT told it would be split into two parts, one in the morning and one in the afternoon. We were not available in the pm and we’re leaving the next day. We asked for a partial refund and we’re denied. Very poor business.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Dear Customer, good evening First of all thank for your review because feedback always help us to improve the service. We called you the day before to make reservation for trevi underground and you ignored our call. We sent you an email to riserve trevi again but no answer. The day of the catacombs tour we agreed to book the other experience according to your stay in rome but you did not report at the counter. As per last mail, you accepted a voucher that you will be able to use anytime. Thank you for your mail and we hope to see you soon. Regards
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Catacombs
Annie_C
, Sep 2020
We had an excellent guide, a Filipino Brother who was an informative and knowledgeable expert. Great tour, we would highly recommend it. The video before we left for the tour was fantastic. We were driven to and from the Catacombs in comfort. Thank you.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Dear Anne, thank you to share your opinion. We are a Tour Operator qualified in tour sector for families and of entertainment in general in order to bring to life innovative experiences to tourists and visitors. We look forward to see you soon. Kindly, Touristation Team
star-4
Rome Underground
Virgil_I
, Nov 2019
We missed our booking time. Folks were great to reach out to us to book without further charges. Truly appreciated!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2020
Dear Customer, thank you so much for taking the time to review your tour with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on another Touristation tour in the future! Best regards, Touristation Team

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Rome Underground: Panoramic Bus Transfer to the Catacombs + Guided Tour
Rome Underground: Panoramic Bus Transfer to the Catacombs + Guided Tour

star-463

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$56.37

star-559

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$96.34

star-569

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$56.37

star-4.5268

3 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$70.72

star-51

1 hour 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$78.91

star-4.536

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$122.13

star-531

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$87.11

star-4195

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$112.53
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations